Monday, November 23, 2015


A trio of brothers from Co. Wexford (who also perform in synth/drone vehicle mvestle), Síoraí Geimhreadh are now in their tenth year of obscure existence. Beginning as a black metal outfit, their current sound is informed by doom and noise rock, but beholden to their own experimental impulses rather than any genre norms.

This release consists of two subtly different versions of the same half-hour piece based around a doggedly-repeated, glacially-paced riff and an eliptical, Beckettian text. The results lie somewhere between the sustained bleakness of Khanate and the more skeletal side of Fushitsusha's output.  

Cassette edition of 100, including printed lyrics and download, or download only.

Side 1 - Not a Room    (31:02)
Side 2 - Also Not a Room    (31:12)

GEORGE WORRALL - Changing Tenses - FEF43

Though rooted in bluegrass and blues influences, the music of Co. Dublin's George Worrall has evolved into a highly idiosyncratic style, with oddly aphoristic lyrics following meandering guitar and banjo melodies. Worrall's understated and unaffected delivery make for disarming directness and intimacy.

Available on cassette in an edition of 75 including lyric insert and download, or as a download only.

Side 1
1) Bottom of the Sea (3.47)
2) Play the Piano (3.54)
3) The Last Lines (4.29)
4) The Better Part of the Night (3.56)

Side 2
1) Entirety (3.10)
2) Con Away (2.04)
3) Build a Rome (2.52)
4) My Heart Won't Bleed a Drop (3.04)
5) Messenger (4.45)

All songs written & performed by George Worrall 
1, 2, 5 & 9 recorded by Graham Watson 
3 & 4 recorded by Alan Weldon
6, 7 & 8 recorded by George Worrall

DELPHINE DORA - L'au​-​delà - FEF42

French musician Delphine Dora is prolific both as a solo artist and as a collaborator with the likes of Éloïse Decazes, Aine O’Dwyer, Half Asleep, Bruno Duplant, and Sophie Cooper. 

The songs on L'au-delà are improvised on piano, organ and synth, and feature lyrics collaged from her own writing and other sources, with delay and multitracking creating an especially eerie, dreamlike, sometimes queasily tense atmosphere. It's her darkest, strangest music to date, abounding in emotional and sonic variety and depth.

Cassette edition of 100 with download, or download only

Side 1
1) Jaillissements cathartiques   (7.28)
2) A la dérive   (5.20)
3) L’impossible échappée   (2.14)
4) Kronos  (3.25)
5)Melancholia  (3.58)
6) Interlude  (1.42)

Side 2
1) Primitive State of Terror I   (2.02)
2) Le monde à l’envers   (1.58)
3) Primitive State of Terror II  (1.16)
4) Where My Treasure Is: a Grave   (0.57)
5) Les chevaux de feu   (8.44)
6) L’au-delà   (3.20)
7) Primitive State of Terror III   (1.16)
8) The End   (4.03)

Piano, vocals, organ, synth, effects, samples: Delphine Dora
All tracks composed, recorded, mixed by Delphine Dora during 2014 - 2015

JON COLLIN - Non-accidents, 2014 - FEF 41

Based in the Northwest of England, Jon Collin is a guitarist of extraordinary subtlety and sensitivity, working in of a lineage that could be said to include Loren Connors, Peter Green and Neil Young. 

This electric material was recorded just before the recent acoustic LP Early Music (released on his own Winebox Press label). The atmosphere is pastoral and earthy, occasionally dissolving into ecstatic drone.

Side 1
1) On the Beach (8.53)
2) Papinade (3.02)
3) Was That Me 1 (4.10)

Side 2
1) Was That Me 2 (5.20) 
2) The Waves (5.27) 
3) Landing (5.39)

Guitars, recorded to tape in Stockport, October 2014

Cassette edition of 75 with download, or download only

Thursday, June 18, 2015


The maestros of electrical fizz & fuzz last graced FEF with the studio jams of WHOK Lab Emissions Vol I. Here they return in full  "proper album" mode: somewhat more considered, but no less incendiary.

As ever, the tracks seem to have formed via unspeakable methodologies of igneous violence and alchemical obscenity. This might be the duo's most punishingly beat-driven release to date, but they still find time for slack-jawed ecstatic droning noise oblivion.

The title refers to fever visions of biomechanical swine experienced by the artists. It's a fitting analogy for the calculated unruliness of this release.

Side One
1) P!!ggz (6.01)
2) Setablaze (3.32)
3) AV Flux (4.54)
4) Endless Bucolica (5.10)

Side Two
1) Noumenon (4.21)
2) Faulterkammer (5.11)
3) Clipd Scene/Blowback (5.50)
4) Permafroste (3.59)

Listen / buy

Whirling Hall Of Knives is: Magnetize + Barry M

BLOOD ROOM - Mazikeen Scheme - FEF39

Currently based in Portland, Oregon, this is the second release from nomadic UK producer Blood Room (Seagrave Records, IXTAB), following the Habitus cassette on Indole Records back in January.

The title references mischievous demons of Jewish mythology, and matches the music's playfully sinister tone, which suggests indefinable dread in haunted post-industrial spaces. Disturbed sonics and gritty beats are set in a spacious mix, and worm their way into the listener's consciousness regardless of consent. A tape of bangers for the agoraphobic. 

Side One
1) N A S (5.54)
2) K'K (6.00)
3) H (4.48)
4) O P (2.50)

Side Two
1) QUELL (5.32)
2) STRAY (5.20)
3) JUBAL (3.38)
4) BARIUM (Ovis Aurum remix)* (5.00)

Listen / buy 

*Remix by Gary James Geiler
Cover art by Stuart Munro


Arma and Refusenik are both solo artists based in Vilnius, Lithuania. This release captures a single 18-minute collaborative improvisation on synths and electronics (repeated on both sides of the tape). Sparse abstractions gradually coalesce into plaintive Kosmische harmonies before an eventual dissolve into nothingness. It remains decidedly in the proverbial Zone throughout. 

Kol Kas (18.23)

Listen / buy 

Recorded in Vilnius using various synths and electronics 
Mixed & mastered by Arturas Bumsteinas aka Refusenik 
Cover art by Declan Kelly: