Monday, November 23, 2015


A trio of brothers from Co. Wexford (who also perform in synth/drone vehicle mvestle), Síoraí Geimhreadh are now in their tenth year of obscure existence. Beginning as a black metal outfit, their current sound is informed by doom and noise rock, but beholden to their own experimental impulses rather than any genre norms.

This release consists of two subtly different versions of the same half-hour piece based around a doggedly-repeated, glacially-paced riff and an eliptical, Beckettian text. The results lie somewhere between the sustained bleakness of Khanate and the more skeletal side of Fushitsusha's output.  

Cassette edition of 100, including printed lyrics and download, or download only.

Side 1 - Not a Room    (31:02)
Side 2 - Also Not a Room    (31:12)

GEORGE WORRALL - Changing Tenses - FEF43

Though rooted in bluegrass and blues influences, the music of Co. Dublin's George Worrall has evolved into a highly idiosyncratic style, with oddly aphoristic lyrics following meandering guitar and banjo melodies. Worrall's understated and unaffected delivery make for disarming directness and intimacy.

Available on cassette in an edition of 75 including lyric insert and download, or as a download only.

Side 1
1) Bottom of the Sea (3.47)
2) Play the Piano (3.54)
3) The Last Lines (4.29)
4) The Better Part of the Night (3.56)

Side 2
1) Entirety (3.10)
2) Con Away (2.04)
3) Build a Rome (2.52)
4) My Heart Won't Bleed a Drop (3.04)
5) Messenger (4.45)

All songs written & performed by George Worrall 
1, 2, 5 & 9 recorded by Graham Watson 
3 & 4 recorded by Alan Weldon
6, 7 & 8 recorded by George Worrall

DELPHINE DORA - L'au​-​delà - FEF42

French musician Delphine Dora is prolific both as a solo artist and as a collaborator with the likes of Éloïse Decazes, Aine O’Dwyer, Half Asleep, Bruno Duplant, and Sophie Cooper. 

The songs on L'au-delà are improvised on piano, organ and synth, and feature lyrics collaged from her own writing and other sources, with delay and multitracking creating an especially eerie, dreamlike, sometimes queasily tense atmosphere. It's her darkest, strangest music to date, abounding in emotional and sonic variety and depth.

Cassette edition of 100 with download, or download only

Side 1
1) Jaillissements cathartiques   (7.28)
2) A la dérive   (5.20)
3) L’impossible échappée   (2.14)
4) Kronos  (3.25)
5)Melancholia  (3.58)
6) Interlude  (1.42)

Side 2
1) Primitive State of Terror I   (2.02)
2) Le monde à l’envers   (1.58)
3) Primitive State of Terror II  (1.16)
4) Where My Treasure Is: a Grave   (0.57)
5) Les chevaux de feu   (8.44)
6) L’au-delà   (3.20)
7) Primitive State of Terror III   (1.16)
8) The End   (4.03)

Piano, vocals, organ, synth, effects, samples: Delphine Dora
All tracks composed, recorded, mixed by Delphine Dora during 2014 - 2015

JON COLLIN - Non-accidents, 2014 - FEF 41

Based in the Northwest of England, Jon Collin is a guitarist of extraordinary subtlety and sensitivity, working in of a lineage that could be said to include Loren Connors, Peter Green and Neil Young. 

This electric material was recorded just before the recent acoustic LP Early Music (released on his own Winebox Press label). The atmosphere is pastoral and earthy, occasionally dissolving into ecstatic drone.

Side 1
1) On the Beach (8.53)
2) Papinade (3.02)
3) Was That Me 1 (4.10)

Side 2
1) Was That Me 2 (5.20) 
2) The Waves (5.27) 
3) Landing (5.39)

Guitars, recorded to tape in Stockport, October 2014

Cassette edition of 75 with download, or download only